Miles Franklin Award 2013

This year’s Miles Franklin Award shortlist has been announced and, for the first time ever,  is completely comprised of female authors, three of them first-time novelists. After last year’s win by Anna Funder, the Indie Book of the Year 2013 going to M.L. Stedman, and Carrie Tiffany being chosen as the winner of the inaugural Stella Award from a very strong shortlist, I think we can be assured that the incredible talent of female writers in this country is finally being recognised! Congratulations to all those on the shortlist:

Romy Ash – Floundering

Annah Faulkner – The Beloved

Michelle de Kretser – Questions of Travel

Drusilla Modjeska – The Mountain

Carrie Tiffany – Mateship with Birds

The winner will be announced on 19th June.

miles franklin shortlist


Leave a comment

Filed under Jottings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s