It’s shortlist time… Miles Franklin Award

The Miles Franklin is the most prestigious award for Australian literature with recent winners the likes of Stephen Carroll, Tim Winton and Peter Temple you can see why. A fantastic shortlist this year, Fairfieldbooks has a soft spot for Favel Parrett’s Past the Shallows but its going to be a close call! Last year the unusually short shortlist (only 3 titles) sparked controversy by not including any female authors, a trend that hasn’t continued with 3 of the 5 titles, all very deserved inclusions, by women. There are two debut novels, a mixture of historical and modern and a previous winner in Frank Moorehouse. Diverse indeed.


1 Comment

Filed under Jottings

One response to “It’s shortlist time… Miles Franklin Award

  1. The literary prize has been dogged by controversy, in part due to the lack of women winners (13 in 54 years) or even shortlisted (three in the years 2008-2011, compared to 16 male writers). But the literal interpretation of celebrating Australian life also, in the past, excluded many of the best books of the year. Keneally, for example, has not won the award since 1968; J M Coetzee has never won it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s