Children’s Book Council Awards 2011

The winners of the Children’s Book Council of Australia Awards 2011 have been announced. The winners of the various categories are:

Older Readers

Winner: The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett

Honour: Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Honour: The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher by Doug MacLeod


Younger Readers

Winner: The Red Wind by Isobelle Carmody

Honour: Just a Dog by Michael Gerard Bauer

Honour: Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot by Anna Branford


Early Childhood

Winner: Maudie and Bear by Jan Ormerod & Freya Blackwood

Honour: The Tall Man and the Twelve Babies by Tom Niland Champion, Kilmeny Niland & Deborah Niland

Honour: Look See, Look at Me by Leonie Norrington & Dee Huxley


Picture Book

Joint Winner: Mirror by Jeannie Baker

Joint Winner: Hamlet by Nicki Greenberg

Honour: Why I Love Australia by Bronwyn Bancroft

Honour: My Uncle’s Donkey by Tohby Riddle


Eve Pownall Book of the Year (for information books for children from birth to 18 years)

Winner: The Return of the Word Spy by Ursula Dubosarsky

Honour: Drawn form the Heart: A Memoir by Ron Brooks

Honour: Our World: Bardi Jaawi: Life at Ardiyooloon by One Arm Point Remote Community School

Congratulations to all!


Leave a comment

Filed under Jottings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s