Vogel Award Winner 2011

The Vogel literary prize is awarded to an unpublished Australian author, under the age of 35.  Previous recipients are Tim Winton and Kate Grenville and Danielle Wood so it’s very good company to be in.  Part of the prize is publication of the book by Allen & Unwin, but in the past, that has always happened months after the announcement, by which time most people had forgotten about it.  This year, the decision was made to have to book ready and available to purchase the day after the announcement; a much more sensible plan.  This year the winner is The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson.  It is set in Tasmania and sounds a little like The Secret River by Kate Grenville.  I haven’t read it yet, so I may have that completely wrong, but you can try it for yourself.  In store now.  It is $28.


Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction Reviews, Jottings, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s