Indie Award 2011

The Indie award was established in 2008 by a group of independent booksellers of which Fairfieldbooks is a member.  The inaugural winner was Breath by Tim Winton, and in 2009 Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey won.  In 2010 there was no award issued as the timing of the prize has changed.

The award has four categories, Fiction, Debut fiction, Non-fiction and Children’s. The authors must be Australian citizens to be eligible. The members of the group, which number over 180, have voted for the books they most enjoyed reading and selling in calendar 2010 and from those a short list of 4 books in each category have been chosen. The short list will be announced soon in the press and then each category will have a winner.  The members will vote on an overall winner and that will be announced in early March.  I am busy reading the books so that I will be able to make a considered vote.

Stay tuned for the announcement of the short list.


Leave a comment

Filed under Jottings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s