Summer reading

I’ve had a short break from the shop and I’m pleased to say that I’ve read some terrific books that will be released in the first half of the year.

One of them was sent to me by Text publishing and I must say I was a bit sceptical when I saw it was about an ill woman watching a snail for months.  But I trust Text to be involved in good stuff and the enclosed note was from Serena who had loved it so I gave it a go. And I’m very glad I did.  It was delightful, almost like a meditation.

Another book I read was Leslie Cannold’s first novel.  Leslie is well known in Melbourne as an academic who regularly writes for newspapers on various issues.  She is also often to be heard on radio.  Her book is an imagined life of Rachael of Nazareth, whose brother was Joshua of Nazareth.  It was another thoroughly enjoyable book, and it will be released in April.

Agent X by Noah Boyd is a ripper of a thriller and was perfect for a holiday break.  It’s Washington, FBI, Russians and a female FBI agent with a bit of history and of course a maverick, sort of ex agent.   It had a very visual feeling, and I could see Nathan Fillion in the lead role in a TV series.

Another thriller was one involving a woman who has had an accident and has two types of amnesia.  Each day has to start from scratch because she has forgotten everything she learned the day before.  Her husband has to explain who he is every morning, and when she looks in the mirror she is shocked at how she looks.  She expects to see her 27 year old self, instead of seeing her current late fourties face and hands.  It was both gripping and fascinating.

I’ll review each of these properly when they are available for purchase.  But if you would like to talk to me about any of them, feel free.

Currently I’m reading one that has been available for a few months, and I don’t know why I’ve taken so long to get to it.  Rocks in the belly by Jon Bauer is terrific and I’ll post about it properly when I’ve finished.

Heather

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction Reviews

Leave a Reply

